DE / EN
 
 
ÜBER
ISSUE N°1
ISSUE N°2
ISSUE N°3
ISSUE N°4
ISSUE N°5
ISSUE N°6
VERTRIEB
PRESSE MATERIAL
SUPPORTED BY
KONTAKT
IMPRESSUM
 
 
STREULICHT N°2
PHOTOGRAPHY - ORDER/DISORDER

RELEASED AM 18.05.2013
 
 
 

Der fotografische Impuls put the world in a frame – das Blicken durch den Sucher – macht die Fotografie per se zum Medium der Ordnung, der Sequenzierung und der Fragmentierung unserer Umgebung. Die Fotografie zeichnet auf und kreiert taxonomische Ordnungen, wird zum Dokument – gleichzeitig markiert sie die Grenze, an der die Aufzeichnung, Wiederholung und Bewahrung des Vorangegangenen mit dessen Einzigartigkeit kollidiert. Wo ersetzt die Fotografie das Abgebildete und wird selbst zum Abbild? Wie formiert und zersetzt sie Orte des Wissens (Archive, Sammlungen, Maps etc.)?

Die für die zweite Ausgabe von Streulicht – Magazin für Fotografie und Artverwandtes ausgewählten künstlerischen und theoretischen Positionen, welche sich mit der Formation von diskursiven Systemen durch das Medium Fotografie beschäftigen, bedienen sich "other kinds of ordering"1. Diese von Hal Foster formulierten Praktiken beinhalten Verfahren der post- und pre-production2, welche jedoch nicht nur die Aneignung und Nachbearbeitung von bereits Vorhandenem umfassen, sondern auch die aktive Formation und Produktion von eigenen Archiven, Systemen und Ordnungen initiieren.
Das Prinzip der Konsignation3, der Zu- und Einschreibung in ein System, verweist immer auf einen Ort der Wiederholbarkeit – das Archiv. Doch die Vielzahl an Bildern, ihre Bewegungen und Orte bilden Systeme, in welchen sie sich in ihrer Einzigartigkeit – wie jener des fotografischen Moments – niederschlagen. Diese "Praxis, die eine Vielfalt von Aussagen als ebenso viele regelmäßige Ereignisse, ebenso viele der Bearbeitung und der Manipulation anheimgegebene Dinge auftauchen lässt"4, beschreibt Michel Foucault als grundlegend für seine Definition des Archivs. Betrachtet man die Temporalität der Fotografie – das Paradoxon aus Wiederholbarkeit, singulärer Momenthaftigkeit und Indexikalität – ist es Letztere, die die Fotografie per se als Medium der Archivierung regelrecht "stilllegt". Diese Spur des Vergangen konstitutiv umzuschreiben, Geschichte(n) durch künstlerische Auseinandersetzung zu reformulieren und sie nicht in Sedimenten und Hierarchien abzulagern, führt zu immer wieder neuen Verbindungen, die sich am ehesten mit jenen eines Rhizoms vergleichen lassen. Diese "multiple entryways", durch welche sich das rhizomatische Denken auszeichnet, zum Thema Ordnung und Unordnung zu geben, war der Anstoß für die vorliegende Ausgabe von Streulicht – ein Magazin für Fotografie und Artverwandtes. (Amelie Zadeh)


1 Foster, Hal: An Archival Impulse. In: October, Vol. 110 (Autumn, 2004), S. 5
2 Vgl. Bourriaud, Nicolas: How Art Reprograms World,.Postproduction: Culture as Screenplay: trans. Jeanine Herman (New York: Lukas & Sternberg, 2002).
3 Vgl. Derrida, Jacques: Dem Archiv verschrieben. Eine Freudsche Impression. Berlin: Brinkmann & Bose, 1997. S.13
4 Foucault, Michel: Achäologie des Wissens. Frankfurt a. M.: Suhrkamp, 1981. S.188.

 
 
 
MIT BEITRÄGEN VON  
FAHIM AMIR
ANNA ARTAKER & MEIKE SCHMIDT-GLEIM
ANTHONY AUERBACH
TINA BARA & ALBA D'URBANO
TOM BURR
BERNHARD CELLA
JULIETTE DESORGUES
MARKUS GEORG
AMINA HANDKE
GELITIN
PETER JELLITSCH
LABOUR OF WOOD
JURI LAKRIZ
DIRCK MÖLLMANN
ISIN ÖNOL
TIM REINECKE & DANIEL WIMMER
WENDELIN PRESSL
JOHANN SCHOISWOHL
TOMASH SCHOISWOHL
ANDREAS SPIEGL
BATIA SUTER
TRIS VONNA-MICHELL
JOHANNES WILHELM

FEATURING:
EVERYDAY REBELLION
MARTIN GERLACH
HARALD SZEEMANN
 
   
   
ISSUU.COM VORSCHAU  
 
   
   
   
   
 
 
 
 
 
Fotos © Mario Kiesenhofer
 
 
 
   

"WORLD MIND MAP" EIN INTERVIEW MIT HARALD SZEEMANN

DE / EN
 
 
ABOUT
ISSUE N°1
ISSUE N°2
ISSUE N°3
ISSUE N°4
ISSUE N°5
ISSUE N°6
STOCKISTS
PRESS MATERIAL
SUPPORTED BY
CONTACT
IMPRINT
 
 
STREULICHT N°2
PHOTOGRAPHY - ORDER/DISORDER

RELEASED ON 18.05.2013
 
 
 

The photographic impulse to put the world in a frame – the view through the viewfinder – makes photography the per se medium of order, of sequence, and of the fragmentation of our environment. Photography highlights and creates taxonomic orders, it becomes a document – it simultaneously marks the border where recording, repetition, and preservation of the past collide with its singularity. At what point does photography replace what it depicts and itself become a depiction? How does it form and dissolve spaces of knowledge (archives, collections, maps, etc.)?

The artistic and theoretical positions chosen for the second edition of Streulicht – Magazine for Photography and Related Matters, which deals with the formation of discursive systems through the medium of photography, employ "other kinds of ordering"1. As formulated by Hal Foster, these practices are comprised of processes of post- and pre- production2, these include, however, not only the appropriation and post-processing of the extant, but also initiate an active formation and production of individual archives, systems, and orders.
The principle of consignation3, attribution and registration within a system, always refers to a space of reproducibility – the archive. Yet a large number of images, their movements and spaces, form systems in which they are reflected in their uniqueness – like that of the photographic moment. Michael Foucault describes this "practice that allows for a myriad of statements, and just as many events, and just as many things committed to processing and manipulation to surface,"4 as the basis of his definition of the archive. If we regard the temporality of photography – the paradox of reproducibility, singular momentariness and indexicality – then the latter, photography as a medium of archiving per se is downright "laid to rest." To constitutively describe this trace of the past, to reformulate stor(ies)y through artistic analysis and refrain from depositing them in sediments and hierarchies, leads to ever-new connections that can most suitably be compared to those of a Rhizome. These "multiple entryways" through which rhizomatic thought characterizes itself, and the application of that theme to order and disorder, are the impetus for this edition of Streulicht – Magazine for Photography and Related Matters. (Amelie Zadeh)


1 Foster, Hal. "An Archival Impulse". In: October, Vol. 110 (Autumn, 2004): p. 5.
2 Comp. Bourriaud, Nicolas. How Art Reprograms World.Postproduction: Culture as Screenplay. Jeanine Herman (trans.). New York: Lukas & Sternberg, 2002.
3 Comp. Derrida, Jacques. Dem Archiv verschrieben. Eine Freudsche Impression. Berlin: Brinkmann & Bose, 1997: p. 13.
4 Foucault, Michel. Achäologie des Wissens. Frankfurt a. M.: Suhrkamp, 1981: p.188.
5 Deleuze, Gilles/ Guattari, Félix. A Thousand Plateaus. Capitalism and Schizophrenia. London/Minneapolis: Univ. of Minnesota Press, 1987. p. 12

 
 
 
CONTRIBUTORS  
FAHIM AMIR
ANNA ARTAKER & MEIKE SCHMIDT-GLEIM
ANTHONY AUERBACH
TINA BARA & ALBA D'URBANO
TOM BURR
BERNHARD CELLA
JULIETTE DESORGUES
MARKUS GEORG
AMINA HANDKE
GELITIN
PETER JELLITSCH
LABOUR OF WOOD
JURI LAKRIZ
DIRCK MÖLLMANN
ISIN ÖNOL
TIM REINECKE & DANIEL WIMMER
WENDELIN PRESSL
JOHANN SCHOISWOHL
TOMASH SCHOISWOHL
ANDREAS SPIEGL
BATIA SUTER
TRIS VONNA-MICHELL
JOHANNES WILHELM

FEATURING:
EVERYDAY REBELLION
MARTIN GERLACH
HARALD SZEEMANN
 
   
   
ISSUU.COM PREVIEW  
 
   
   
   
   
 
 
 
 
 
Photos © Mario Kiesenhofer  
   
   
   
"WORLD MIND MAP" AN INTERVIEW WITH HARALD SZEEMANN